Wednesday, 5 May 2010

May 2010 Releases | Tor UK/Pan Macmillan

Kraken by China Mieville

Publisher: Macmillan
Format: Hardback
ISBN: 9780333989500

Release Date: 07/05/2010
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Thriller
Series/Stand Alone: Stand Alone

Publisher's Blurb:
A dark urban fantasy thriller from one of the all-time masters of the genre
Deep in the research wing of the Natural History Museum is a prize specimen, something that comes along much less often than once in a
lifetime: a perfect, and perfectly preserved, giant squid. But what does it mean when the creature suddenly and impossibly disappears?
For curator Billy Harrow it's the start of a headlong pitch into a London of warring cults, surreal magic, apostates and assassins. It might just be that the creature he's been preserving is more than a biological rarity: there are those who are sure it's a god.
A god that someone is hoping will end the world.

God Of Clocks by Alan Campbell

Publisher: Tor UK
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780330444781

Release Date: 07/05/2010
Genre: Fantasy
Series/Stand Alone: Book 3 of the Deepgate Codex

Publisher's Blurb:
'One of Brit-fantasy's stars' - SFX
The gates to Hell have been opened, releasing unnatural creatures and threatening to turn the world into a killing field. In the middle, caught between warring gods and fallen angels, humanity finds itself pushed to the brink of extinction. Its only hope is the most unlikely of heroes . . .
Former assassin Rachel Hael has rejoined the blood-magician Mina Greene and her devious little dog Basilis on one last desperate mission to save the world from the grip of Hell. Carried in the jaw of a debased angel, they rush to the final defensive stronghold of the god of clocks – pursued all the while by the twelve arconites, the great iron-and-bone automatons controlled by King Menoa, the lord of the maze.
But the strange fortress of the god of clocks is unlike anything they could ever have expected. And now old enemies and new allies join in a battle whose outcome could end them all...

Childhood's End by Arthur C Clarke

Publisher: Tor UK
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780330514019

Release Date: 07/05/2010
Genre: Science Fiction
Series/Stand Alone: Stand Alone

Publisher's Blurb:
A reissue of an all-time science fiction classic
Earth has become a Utopia, guided by a strange unseen people from outer space whose staggering powers have eradicated war, cruelty, poverty and racial inequality. When the 'Overlords' finally reveal themselves, their horrific form makes little impression.
Then comes the sign that the Overlords have been waiting for. A child begins to dream strangely - and develops remarkable powers. Soon this happens to every child - and the truth of the Overlords' mission is finally revealed to the human race...

Apartment 16 by Adam Nevill

Publisher: Pan
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780330514965

Release Date: 21/05/2010
Genre: Horror
Series/Stand Alone: Stand Alone

Publisher's Blurb:
A spine chilling horror novel from a new British talent...
Some doors are better left closed . . .
In Barrington House, an upmarket block in London, there is an empty apartment. No one goes in, no one comes out. And it’s been that way for fifty years. Until the night watchman hears a disturbance after midnight and investigates. What he experiences is enough to change his life forever.
A young American woman, Apryl, arrives at Barrington House. She's been left an apartment by her mysterious Great Aunt Lillian who died in strange circumstances. Rumours claim Lillian was mad. But her diary suggests she was implicated in a horrific and inexplicable event decades ago.
Determined to learn something of this eccentric woman, Apryl begins to unravel the hidden story of Barrington House. She discovers that a transforming, evil force still inhabits the building. And the doorway to Apartment 16 is a gateway to something altogether more terrifying . . .

No comments:

  © Blogger templates Newspaper II by 2008

Back to TOP